Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

insight to the life of a former social climber

Posted on by the bombdiggity

insight to the life of a former social climber

Recently, ive been told that my life seemed fun and that I was lucky to be gifted with so many friends and people just assume that I must be really happy but that’s not even the half of it.

I always felt like my life on social media was so much better than my actual life, I like to believe I was tricking people into thinking that I had my shit together but deep down, life was kicking me in the butt. Honestly I liked convincing myself that all was good but now it’s just getting to me because people have asked me what it would take to have a life like mine and I see myself in you.

Im going to be real here so I hope that you keep an open mind with absolutely no judgement. A few years ago I was introduced to social media. Quite a killer this instagram can be and oh how I wanted to be as flashy (rather trashy) as those girls out there that everyone wanted to follow. It meant the world to me to just be part of that life for one day and believe it or not, I kind of made it happen.

It all started with a party, one party lead to another and I saw myself every night at some random club with some random friends that after a few days would catch on to another bunch of random friends and leave. We were all close knit but it wasn’t our deep friendship that held us together, we needed each other, it was absolutely necessary to have certain names on your following, whether you like the person or whether she slipped something in your drink.

What did I think ‘fame’ was? Good life and pretty places, hell no. I was in for a rollercoaster ride and this wasn’t a fun one.  Do you know what it feels like to have two hundred and fifty absolute strangers give their unwanted opinions on you? It felt the worst to know that everyone was talking about me but had nothing nice to say. Really made me feel like crap. But what I learned, much much later is that that they never have anything nice to say about anyone. How are you going to be in the limelight if there aren’t about a billion disgusting rumors about you, right?

So for starters, I got added to a group where these people I’d only heard about were accusing me of doing something that I did not do. The one person that was actually at fault got scott free, well because that’s life. I was assaulted at a pub and hit but I let that go, because reputation came before safety back then. I met a million gorgeous looking guys who wanted nothing more than a casual fling, half of them went to the extent of making up stories because of course, to them, their sex life meant so much more than a girls reputation. 

On the way, I met girls who’d steal, girls who thought it was alright to lead a guy on while they were doing three others. I met girls who’d spend all their parent’s money on push up bras and bustiers because that was what we thought love was. i saw a perfectly amazing girl get used for her money and social status and now I hear that same girl being talked about in horrible ways. Imagine being part of a life where you’re being watched so closely and each time you falter, there’s a whatsapp group with some horrible kids saying horrible things. Screw relationships, you can’t get through a decent conversation without someone messing it up for you.  And who am I to talk about these girls when I was one of them

I had become one of those people and I honestly don’t even remember what I was like before this little social climbing act. Yes, I was a social climber and yes a lot of the friends I had were social climbers and we all used each other to get into clubs and to meet new people, who we’d eventually screw over because it was never enough.

Do you know what it feels like to have a best friend? Because I didn’t. I didn’t know because the only friends I had either ‘hooked up’ with the guys I was seeing  or wanted a table at tryst. It’s cool because who needs friends when you have a thousand followers giving you love and yes, not to forget, the hate pages on instagram and ask.fm because it always made my day to wake up in the morning and read, ‘you’re a wh***’ in my notifications. Girls posting ugly pictures of me, girls that I trusted.

Other than a victoria secret purse and a few free shots, I don’t think anything good really came from the past few wasted years of my life. Not everyone is like me, not everyone went through half of this but everyone part of this life is involved in something so unnecessarily harmful

When you say you want to be like me or like those girls with skinny waists and martinis at expensive places in amazing clothes, I want to tell you that I want to be like you because what I would give to wipe out those wasted years of my life is everything I have.

Comment on this post
C
Many of the largest detoxification firms near your vicinity that gives domestic cleanup services is definitely gotten touching Cleaning Globe. They moreover provide consultant cleaning firm to a lot of the firms that include home cleaning thus to their clients. AquaLuxe. ie electrical power washing dublin concepts may pay a visit to Cleaning Globe's web page to ascertain additional with regards to the companies that they can use. You can actually look in these companies' net profile pages plus can select one which fits your current demands. In addition to this, you'll be able to additionally assessment various fees of such cleaning organization. When you happen to be actually attempting to find home cleanup company throughout Dubai.
Reply